Where South Africans can and can’t travel
According to the latest data from Skyscanner, travellers from South Africa face low restrictions when travelling to 44 countries.

The latest data from Skyscanner reveals where South Africans can expect the lowest and major restrictions. According to Skyscanner’s website, travellers from South Africa can visit 44 countries with low restrictions. These countries, mostly in Africa, include Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Ivory Coast, Mozambique, Namibia, Senegal and Tanzania. South African travellers can also visit Albania, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Montenegro, Nicaragua, Ukraine, and Venezuela.

“You can visit these countries. You’ll likely need proof of a negative Covid-19 test or vaccination to travel,” says Skyscanner on its website.

Major and moderate restrictions

In March, South Africa was placed more than 120 different red lists. South African travellers can now expect to face major restrictions in 84 countries.

“Travel to these countries is not advised. Their borders may be completely closed to non-residents or non-nationals,” says Skyscanner.

In addition, South African travellers face moderate restrictions in 29 countries while it 90 restrictions are not known.

“Wherever you’re flying from, please check the local government advice before booking,” recommends Skyscanner.

RELATED: Tips for today’s business traveller