Entries now open for the WTM AFRICA Responsible Tourism Awards 2023 | The Planner

Are you a sustainability champion, changemaker or innovator working in the tourism space? If yes, then it’s time to get your entry ready for the WTM Responsible Tourism Awards 2023.

These annual awards were established in 2004 and have become an important component of Africa Travel Week as well as benchmark for best practices, inspiring tourism stakeholders to support sustainable travel experiences. They are free to enter, and applicants must enter by their region, either: Africa, India, Latin America, and the rest of the world. Each region’s winners will go forward to compete in the Global Awards at WTM London 2023.

“Sustainable tourism is a top priority worldwide, and we know that many African organisations are leading the way with their actions and initiatives”

Megan De Jager, Portfolio Director, Travel, Tourism & Creative Industries Portfolio at RX Africa, says, “Sustainable tourism is a top priority worldwide, and we know that many African organisations are leading the way with their actions and initiatives. These awards are an opportunity for recognition and celebration. We are very proud that South Africa’s Witsiehoek Mountain Lodge has been recognised in the Growing the Economic Benefit category and as an overall winner in the 2022 Global WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards.”

A panel of industry experts led by Harold Goodwin, WTM’s Responsible Tourism Advisor, will be judging the entries.

Harold says, “The Responsible Tourism Awards are an opportunity for businesses and destinations to demonstrate their commitment to responsibility and sustainability. An accolade like this can bring significant business benefits, including increased awareness and a competitive advantage. We encourage all eligible businesses to enter.”

Registrants can apply for the following six categories:

• Best for Tackling Plastic Waste
• Best for Meaningful Connections
• Best for Local Sourcing, Craft and Food
• Addressing Climate Change
• Best for Diversity and Inclusion
• Best for Nature-Positive Tourism

For details on each category and to enter or nominate a business, venue or organisation, click here.

The deadline for entries is 17 February 2023.

Megan concludes, “Africa’s tourism industry is booming again, and it’s more important than ever for us to embrace ways to preserve Africa’s unique assets for future generations.”

Photo credit: Hiroko Yoshii on Unsplash

RELATED: The luxury golf and LGBTQ+ tourism markets debut at ILTM Africa