Entries now open: WTM Africa Responsible Tourism Awards 2024! | The Planner

WTM Africa is urging responsible tourism businesses to enter their Responsible Tourism Awards 2024. The deadline for entries is 1 March 2024.

These annual awards are a highlight at WTM Africa, where they serve to celebrate exceptional organisations, initiatives, and individuals who are advancing responsible tourism across the continent.

Megan De Jager, Portfolio Director – Travel, Tourism & RX Africa Marketing, says, “Now in its 20th year, the 2024 editions honours two decades of industry changemakers dedicated to making a lasting impact across the continent.

“Don’t miss your chance to be a part of this prestigious legacy. The WTM Africa Responsible Tourism Awards opens many doors for winners, and even finalists, further drawing a considerable degree of admiration and international recognition.”

RELATED: Africa’s responsible tourism projects are among the best in the world

Meet the six award categories

The awards are free to enter. All applications will be overseen by an expert panel of judges across six curated categories, which include:

  1. Making Travel Inclusive
  2. Championing Cultural Diversity
  3. Nature Positive
  4. What are you doing about climate change?
  5. Increasing local sourcing – creating shared value
  6. Employing and Upskilling Local Communities

Gold winners in each category will also have the opportunity to compete in the Global Responsible Tourism Awards against finalists from India and Latin America. This year, Africa’s responsible tourism champions won five out of the eight categories.

“Don’t hesitate to enter or encourage someone you admire to submit an application. They could walk away with an incredible award celebrating their hard work while benefitting from the acclaim that goes along with it,” adds De Jager.

Interested participants are encouraged to submit their applications via the WTM Africa website here.